Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: 866-705-4617
Phone: 619-234-2833
The Turley & Mara Law Firm, APLC

How the increase in the California minimum wage helps truck drivers and delivery drivers

Comments (0)

“When I seek out professional advice, I don’t want B.S. I want it straight up, with no double talk. I figure you do also. I always use plain English, with no sugarcoating, no B.S. lawyer talk, and no double talk-just old fashioned, unsweetened, unvarnished truth-just the way that I would want it.” - Bill Turley

California Delivery Truck Driver Lawyer Wage and Hour Attorney

Working Hard for the Rest of Us

When it comes to California Truck and Delivery drivers, there is no one who works harder then these men and women. They provide for the rest of us and they bust their butts while their doing it.

And the one thing that ticks me off more then anything, is seeing these hard working folks like yourself getting ripped off by the companies they work for. Order my book, California Truck & Delivery Driver Wage Theft. I will send it to you for free and cover shipping.

Before you order it, check out the 5 Star Amazon reviews written by other drivers. This book is full of helpful and useful information.

Need Help Today?

Give us a call. (619) 234-2833

The California minimum wage increased to $10 an hour starting on Jan. 1, 2016.

This is great news for labor and hard working folks. But what does it mean to California truck and delivery drivers?

Drivers Paid by the Hour

If you are paid by the hour, then in the future - you can expect your wages to increase. The economists call this “wage-creep.”  Meaning, that when the bottom wages increase then there is usually a corresponding adjustment to most hurly paid workers. The adjustment here is that wages usually go up for workers such as truck drivers and delivery drivers.

Drivers Paid by Piece Rate

An increase in the California minimum wage is simply great news to drivers paid by what is called a piece rate system: by the run, load, stop, weight and/or by the mile. As I often tell folks, most all of these piece rate systems are illegal because they don’t pay drivers for all time worked.

Such as not paying truck drivers and delivery drivers for pre-trips, post-trips, wait time, paper work and the like. For these drivers, every minute that they work of uncompensated time is a minute of time that is owed to them by the company. Now the minimum that is owed to them is $9 an hour. All in all great news.

Are you wondering if you aren’t getting paid fairly?

I recommend that you contact a lawyer that specializes in California truck and delivery driver cases. I represent more truck and delivery drivers than any lawyer in California.

Offices in Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisco, Oakland and Bakersfield.

Disclaimer: Please understand these discussions and/or examples are not legal advice. All legal situations are different. This testimonial, endorsement and/or discussion does not constitute a guarantee, warranty, or prediction regarding the outcome of your legal matter, your particular case/ situation and/or this particular case/ situation. Thanks, Bill Turley

Be the first to comment!

Post a Comment

To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."

Name:*

Email:* (will not be published)

Message:*

Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

Live Chat