Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: 866-705-4617
Phone: 619-234-2833
The Turley & Mara Law Firm, APLC

Pay Statement Requirements for California Truck Drivers

Comments (0)

Although California employers are required to give truck drivers full and fair wages, many will resort to underhanded tactics to steal pay from drivers. One reason companies continue to get away with wage theft is that they do not provide employees with a breakdown and summary of the wages they have earned, allowing them to “nickel and dime” pay away from workers with every passing pay period.

Information All California Employers Must Provide on Paycheck Statements

In order to make sure that workers are being paid fairly, California labor laws require employers to provide accurate information on workers’ pay stubs. By law, all itemized pay statements must include:

  • The employer’s name and address
  • The employee’s name and last four digits of his or her Social Security number
  • The inclusive dates for which the employee is being paid
  • The gross wages earned (before tax and deductions)
  • The net wages earned (after tax and deductions)
  • All deductions applied to the gross portion of earnings
  • The total hours worked (for nonexempt employees)
  • All applicable hourly rates
  • The applicable piece rate and units earned (for piece-rate employees)

Under California law, a worker is entitled to damages when he or she has been injured as a result of the company’s willful violation of pay statement regulations. If an employer failed to provide you with a wage statement, failed to provide accurate or complete information on the wage statement, or knowingly provided inaccurate or misleading information on your pay stubs, you may recover additional amounts along with the back pay you are owed.

If you are still employed with the company, your employer may be assessed a penalty of $50 for the initial wage statement violation and $100 for each subsequent violation up to a maximum of $4,000. Employees who have filed suit may also be able to recover costs and reasonable attorney’s fees. Finally, if an employer violated itemized pay stub requirements on an employee’s final paycheck, the company may be liable for waiting time penalties.

To find out how much you may be owed read through our free book, California Truck & Delivery Driver Wage Theft: The Ultimate Straight Talk Guide to Getting Your Hard Earned Wages Back

William Turley
“When I seek out professional advice, I don’t want B.S., I want it straight up. I figure you do also.”
Be the first to comment!

Post a Comment

To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."

Name:*

Email:* (will not be published)

Message:*

Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

Live Chat